Goals for 2013

Standard

Goals for 2013

My 24 goals for 2013, in no particular order are:

~ Read through the Bible in one year using this plan.
~ Complete at least three Bible studies.
~ Teach my daughter (2.5 years old) numbers 11 – 20.
~ Teach my daughter weekly on the ABC’s.
~ Work on one new habit per month.
~ Take pictures of the children each week.
~ Have monthly dates with the hubby, however simple they may be.
~ Have monthly family dates.
~ Take at least two overnight family trips.
~ Write at least two encouraging notes every month.
~ Write at least two blogs per week.
~ Start (and complete!) at least six crafts or projects.
~ Invite someone to our house for lunch/supper at least once a month.
~ Try a new recipe (or two) per month.
~ Make homemade baby food.
~ Save up for an elliptical machine.
~ Save up for a new washer and dryer.
~ Read my ever growing stack of ebooks/books.
~ Give to Goodwill/Salvation Army monthly.
~ Reorganize and declutter the garage.
~ Reorganize and declutter the shop.
~ Lose 40 pounds.
~ Walk 500 miles during aerobic activity.
~ Take at least two online classes/webinars on something I enjoy or want to learn more about.

I will make monthly updates to keep me accountable on my goals.  Some will be easy, some will be hard, but I really want to complete all of them.

I used to be one of those New Year’s resolution kind of gals… you know, those “go on a diet” and “get organized” resolutions that you either (1) forget about (2) totally bomb or (3) lose interest in by about the third week in January. And the reason this happens tends to be lack of planning or unrealistic expectations. Usually both. There’s no way you can expect to stay on a juice diet for the whole year. It’s not feasible OR safe.

So instead I settled on these goals which will be challenging but doable. I just have to keep plugging away at it. Every day.

Because the things that matter take time and dedication. I owe it to myself and to my family to make my life what I want it to be. And these goals will help me achieve that.

13 responses »

  1. These are all wonderful goals! I’d love to pray for you as you work towards them. And I really like that you have specific goals for your daughter- numbers and abc’s. I hadn’t thought of that, but it’s great to set those!

    • I would appreciate all the prayers I can get, thank you. I set the goals for my daughter to make me more accountable… it’s easy to have play time together but I know I should also be deligent in her education. Those goals help me be more intentional and structured in teaching her, if that makes sense.

  2. Hey, I saw your link on MoneySaving Mom. You can totally do the fitness thing! Losing weight and getting healthy is one of my biggest goals for this year too, and I’m also hoping that blogging about it will help keep me accountable and inspired! Here’s to a great year… hang in there!

  3. Saw a snapshot of your goals on Motherhood on a dime. Thanks for sharing your list. I have a daughter who is 28 months and I also like how you were specific in improving her education. I will follow your lead. Thank you!

    • You’re very welcome! I know me — I have to be intentional about it and write it down or it seems weeks slip by and I haven’t done a thing for her (educational wise). I want to be a better mother than that so I write it down! lol

  4. Pingback: 12 Habits for 2013 {January Recap} « Happily A Homemaker

  5. Pingback: When You Feel Discontentment and What to Do About It | Happily A Homemaker

  6. Pingback: Goals for 2014 | Happily A Homemaker

Leave a Reply

