Frugal Living: Baking Your Own Bread

Standard

It’s no secret that homemade bread is better than store bought.  It’s better for you — you know what you’re putting into the homemade bread.  It definitely smells better.  There’s nothing like walking into the house to the smell of homemade bread baking in the breadmaker (or oven).  The thought of it is making me hungry right now!

It does take a little more time to bake bread than to pick it up while you’re at the store… but if you have a breadmaker the time difference really isn’t noticable.

Plus who doesn’t like to eat a piece of still-warm-from-the-oven buttered homemade bread?  Yummmm….

With that in mind I set out to find the perfect whole wheat bread recipe. After a few failures I coincidentally happened upon this blog today.  She lists eight bread recipes (and I can’t wait to try them all).  The one that caught my interest though was the first one:  My Favorite Homemade Bread Recipe.  And although I don’t have a grain mill I do have the store bought stuff which will have to work til I’m able to buy a mill. 🙂

After I read all of the ingredients I was on my way to the kitchen to get out the breadmaker.  I used the breadmaker to bake the bread instead of putting it in the oven, mainly because I do not own a bread pan.  (Yes, I know you’re shaking your head in amazement right now.  And yes, I am ashamed of myself.  And yes, I am going to buy one.  It’s on the list to buy next time I’m at the store.)  I set it on the whole wheat setting for a 1.5 pound loaf.  And a light crust of course.  But I still don’t like how hard the crust gets while baking in the breadmaker so I tend to turn it off about 15 minutes before the timer says it’s done.  That seems to work beautifully!

And now you’re probably wondering if this is the perfect whole wheat bread recipe that I’ve been searching for.  And you’re probably wondering why I haven’t included any pictures of my loaf of bread.  The bread was so good that between the three of us old enough to eat solids there isn’t any left.  Well, there may be a crust.  And it was all gone before I remembered to take any pictures.  Guess I’ll have to make some more very soon.

I think I’m going to challenge myself to make my own bread instead of buying store bought from now on.  I’m all about being frugal — especially when we are talking about yummy, buttery, fresh homemade bread.  Although I might have to start exercising more to counter the extra carbs I’m ingesting!

Leave a Reply

