Memory Verse of the Week

Standard

This week I started a new Bible study hosted by goodmorninggirls (dot) org called Living Like Jesus.  I stumbled across that website right before their last study (which was on Colossians) and I absolutely loved it.  I sincerely hope I am able to do more of their studies in the future.

Anyway, the memory verse for the week is:

Luke17475

That just spoke to me.  Jesus rescues us.  He gives us what we need to be able to serve Him.  Without fear.  We should not be afraid to do what God has told us to do.  What’s the worst that can happen?

But to whom much is given much is expected.  We should be holy and righteous before Him.  Holy means being dedicated or devoted to the service of God.  Saintly; godly; pious; devout.  Righteous means acting in an upright, moral way.

And how long should we be holy, righteous, and in service to Him?  Until we have children and get busy with “life”? No.  Well maybe just until we get burned out and need a break? Still, no.  How about until we retire or get “old”.  We still should serve.

All.  Our.  Days.

Jesus wants us to serve Him all of our days.  That seems like so much sometimes.  It seems impossible.  But look how much He’s done for us.  He lived and He died for us and rose again, praise God!  He gave His life for me so that I may be with Him for eternity.  Eternity.  I can’t even wrap my head around that.  But even though He knows I don’t deserve it — I’ve sinned, I’ve turned away from Him, and I’ll sin again — He still died for me.

The least I can do is serve Him.

 

If you would like to download this week’s memory verse in pdf, click on this link:  Luke 1:74-75.  What’s your weekly memory verse or your favorite Bible verse?

Leave a Reply

