Mexican Lasagna

Standard

Yes, I know that lasagna didn’t originate in Mexico.  But that doesn’t mean we can’t have a Mexican Lasagna, does it?  Because it’s pretty good.  And it’s the first recipe I made “all” by myself.

So don’t judge too harshly.

It first came about a few weeks ago when I made a double batch of Crockpot Chicken Tacos (because that’s what you do when you find boneless skinless chicken on sale!) and I really didn’t want to freeze the majority of both batches.

And so I improvised.  And then froze the creation.  Because most of our meals these days are ones that are either really, really easy or ones that I can double up and freeze for another night.  Or both.  That’s just how I roll right now… and I don’t see it changing any time soon!

Since I slid it into the freezer I’ve just been itching to take it out and bake it.  But I really wasn’t sure how it would taste.  I mean, I’ve never “created” a recipe before.  So since my husband is out of town this week I decided to go ahead and bake it.  I figured at best I’d have loads of leftovers and wouldn’t have to cook while he’s gone.  And at worst I’d just throw it away and pretend it never happened.

But I was hoping for the not having to cook option. 🙂

Oh, I guess I need to start at the beginning.  The recipe.  And pictures.

This is really a two day process.  First you need to make the Crockpot Chicken.  I made it the day before and threw it in the fridge until I was ready for it.

001

Then I added sour cream to the chicken mixture.  {I’m fairly certain this step can be omitted without much taste difference.  I will try it that way next time and let you know.}

Spray a large (mine was 13 x 9) casserole dish and add a thin layer of the chicken mixture to the bottom (should be about half of the mixture).

003

Layer about half of the tortilla strips on top of the chicken mixture.

Spread about half of the cottage cheese mixture on top of the tortillas.

004

Sprinkle the shredded mozzarella cheese on top of the cottage cheese mixture.

Repeat the layering process — chicken mixture, tortilla strips, cottage cheese mixture, mozzarella cheese.  I put a lot more mozzarella cheese on the top layer than I did in the middle layer.  Then I sprinkled chopped green onions on the top of the mozzarella cheese.  This step could be omitted as well, of course.

009

Then you can either cover with plastic wrap and heavy duty foil and freeze OR you can bake it then.

002

I have to say, I was pleased with the end result.  It was even better the next day.  Although I still think there is something… missing.  Chopped green peppers?  Cilantro?  Salsa?  Fresh lime juice?  I’m not sure yet.

What do you think?

Crockpot Chicken Tacos

Adapted from http://whoneedsacape.com/2012/10/crockpot-chicken-tacos/

 Ingredients:

1 chicken taco seasoning packet or use your own homemade seasoning

3 frozen chicken breasts (if using fresh it takes 2-3 hours less)

2 cans Rotel© — I use one mild and one original

¼ c of olive oil

¼ c water

 Directions:

Take the chicken taco seasoning packet and cover the bottom of the slow cooker.  Lay the three frozen breasts on top of the seasoning. Cover chicken with the Rotel.  Pour the olive oil and water over the top of everything. Do not stir.

 If chicken is frozen should take 6 hours on high; if chicken is fresh about 3 -4 hours.  Shred chicken and then put back in the slow cooker for 30 more minutes. 

 ~~ At this point you can let cool and refrigerate overnight, or continue with the next set of instructions. ~~

 

Mexican Lasagna

http://www.happilyahomemaker.wordpress.com

 Ingredients:

Cooked Crockpot Chicken taco recipe

5 – 6 fajita sized soft tortillas

¾ c sour cream

2 eggs

24 oz small curd cottage cheese

2 ½ c mozzarella cheese, shredded

Green onions, chopped (optional)

 Directions: 

Preheat the oven to 350°.  Add the sour cream to the Crockpot Chicken mixture.  In a separate bowl, mix together the eggs and cottage cheese.

Spray a large (approx. 13 x 9) casserole dish.  Place a thin layer (about half) of the chicken mixture in the bottom of the casserole dish.  Layer about half of the tortilla strips on top of the chicken mixture and then spread about half of the cottage cheese mixture on top of the tortilla strips.  Sprinkle a bit less than half of the mozzarella cheese on top.

Repeat the layering process – chicken mixture, tortilla strips, cottage cheese mixture, and then mozzarella cheese.  I used more mozzarella cheese on the top layer than in the middle.  Sprinkle green onions on top.

Bake at 350° for about 45 minutes or until cheese on top is melted and golden brown. 

 If freezing – let cool completely, cover with plastic wrap and then heavy duty tin foil and place in freezer.  Don’t forget to date and label it!

Defrost overnight in refrigerator, and then bake as normal.

{If you’d like to print this document, click this link for the PDF:  Mexican Lasagna Recipe.}

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Weekly Menu ~ January 14 – 20 | Happily A Homemaker

  2. Pingback: Weekly Menu ~ January 21 – 27 | Happily A Homemaker

Leave a comment