Spring Cleaning: Week 2

Standard

Yes folks, it’s that time of the year again! The sky is blue, the birds are chirping, the flowers are blooming and I’m… spring cleaning.

It’s more fun than it sounds. Really!  To me, anyway.

I’m one of those odd ducks who actually enjoys a good deep clean and declutter. And while I do a deep clean (or “spring” cleaning) a few times a year, the one that takes place in the springtime is my favorite. I don’t know why. I’m sure it is psychological – new life, new beginnings (and it’s the only time of the year the temperature is just right so I can open up those windows!), etc, etc.

And while I’m sure many of you have already started – maybe even finished – your spring cleaning (you have, right?) there may still be a few that haven’t begun.

So join me each week as I hit the “hot spots” in my home.  You know, those places that get dumped on, forgotten about and generally mistreated.  And while I shovel out some of  my embarrassing clutter maybe you can tackle some of your own.

The tools I’m using:
~ trash can
~ laundry basket or box (for those things you find that belong someplace else)
~ box (for those things you’re going to give away)
~ timer
~ good music (optional for some; necessity for me)

I will be posting some before and after pictures to help keep myself accountable.  And since these are only weekly posts I have no excuses if I don’t finish, right?

Last week’s project:  My side of the Master Closet

Here is the “before” picture:

008

Yes, it is a mess.  The dirty clothes basket is full; my tote of family research stuff is on the floor (What?  You don’t keep your family history in the closet too?); a box of clothes to go to Goodwill; there are clothes all over the place… it hasn’t been too long since I purged my clothes (hence the aforementioned box) so I don’t have to do that.  I do have to reorganize and sort though.

Ugh.  Lots to do here.

First off, I washed a load (or two) of clothes.  Then I reorganized my tote full of family history and put the tote back in it’s place.  I quickly sorted through the clothes to see what could go back on my hubby’s side of the closet, pulled a few more of my things to go in the Goodwill box, and loaded it in the back of the van.  And don’t ask me if it’s still sitting there.

Ahem.

Anyway, then I moved my shoe organizer closer to my row of boots and put a pair or two of shoes in the Goodwill box as well.  I sorted through my cubbies (half are the hubby’s) and threw away a few socks that were a bit hole-y.  {Am I the only one who wears socks until there’s a quarter-sized hole in them?  And why do I find it way more difficult to buy myself new things like that than I do my husband or children?}

Ok, focus.  Back to the clean out:

Then I dusted the top shelf, the ceiling and the walls, vacuumed the floor and did a quick mop.  Ta da!  All done!

I finally found some bins that fit perfectly in the cubbies.  I’ve only been looking for some for over a year.  (Guess where I found them?  The Dollar Tree!  I love it!  Now I have to get some more!)  And nope, we don’t have a dresser.  That’s all of my clothes (including my maternity and about 3 different sizes of regular clothes… some of which do not fit at the moment, but that’s another story).  And sometimes I still think that’s too many clothes.  Now shoes, on the other hand….

Anyway, here is the after picture:

001

A bit better at least.  Organization is always a work in progress.

So what will I tackle this week??

This week’s project:  The Master Bathroom

Here are the “before” pictures:

021

022

The shower and the toilet are both clean, I promise.  So I won’t bore you with pictures of those.  There’s quite enough to do here, I promise.  As you can see, the vanity has become a diaper changing area as well, and I’m not exactly sure when that happened.  I just know it made middle-of-the-night changes a lot easier.  But since the little one is sleeping in his own room now, I shouldn’t need this anymore.  Yay!  I can reclaim my bathroom!!

See y’all in a week with the progress!  {OK, it’s actually six days because I’m posting this one a day late.  Not because I didn’t finish in time but because a gigantic thunderstorm knocked out our electricity for most of the day Thursday and I’m just getting to post this now!}

Leave a Reply

