Spring Cleaning: Week 4

Standard

Yes folks, it’s that time of the year again! The sky is blue, the birds are chirping, the flowers are blooming and I’m… spring cleaning.

It’s more fun than it sounds. Really!  To me, anyway.

I’m one of those odd ducks who actually enjoys a good deep clean and declutter. And while I do a deep clean (or “spring” cleaning) a few times a year, the one that takes place in the springtime is my favorite. I don’t know why. I’m sure it is psychological – new life, new beginnings (and it’s the only time of the year the temperature is just right so I can open up those windows!), etc, etc.

And while I’m sure many of you have already started – maybe even finished – your spring cleaning (you have, right?) there may still be a few that haven’t begun.

So join me each week as I hit the “hot spots” in my home.  You know, those places that get dumped on, forgotten about and generally mistreated.  And while I shovel out some of  my embarrassing clutter maybe you can tackle some of your own.

The tools I’m using:
~ trash can
~ laundry basket or box (for those things you find that belong someplace else)
~ box (for those things you’re going to give away)
~ timer
~ good music (optional for some; necessity for me)

I will be posting some before and after pictures to help keep myself accountable.  And since these are only weekly posts I have no excuses if I don’t finish, right?

Last week’s project:  The Master Bedroom

Here are the awful before pictures:

025

029

030

I knew this was not going to be one of those 15 minute cleaning jobs.  I let it get too out of hand.  Have you ever had those days?  When you neglect to put something up because you’ll be back to finish it “in just a minute” or you feel like you don’t have time right then to do it… and then since the area is already cluttered it makes it a bit easier to put something else on top of the pile.  Again and again, over and over.   And before you know it you have an out of control room (or house) and don’t know where to start to get it back in order.

That’s how I felt this week with my bedroom.

I kept avoiding it.  I felt it was too time intensive to deal with, especially with two small children who it seems always need me (especially when I’m trying to work on something!).  I made excuse after excuse but I knew it had to be done.  It was driving me crazy.  I can only stand a cluttered space for so long before I snap.

And even though I was dreading it, I finally picked a starting place and went to it.

I started with the mess in the first picture, mainly because it was the closest to the door and I had to start somewhere.  It’s still a work in progress.  I have to figure out a permanent place for my wrapping paper and gift bags (which are in the box under the wrapping paper container).  Right now they’re in the utility closet but I’m not sure that will be their final resting place.  🙂  And in case you’re wondering, yes, I am going to move the elliptical machine in front of a window or something.  That’s just where the hubby put it together and we haven’t moved it yet.  I’m getting there. Slowly.

The clothes were what took the longest.  Most of them belonged to the baby… and I had been procrastinating putting them up because I hadn’t cleaned out the ones he’s outgrown so I didn’t have enough room.  So basically I cleaned two rooms this week.  But they both look much better!

See?

002

(The mirror on the floor will be moved too.  Eventually.  Right now both of my children enjoy looking at themselves in it and I hate to move it.)

003

(My daughter helped me make the bed!  Isn’t she sweet?)

005

Ahh.  Time to put my feet up and drink a cuppa coffee. 🙂

Leave a Reply

