What’s Been Cookin’ in the Kitchen

Standard
source: freedigitalphotos.net

source: freedigitalphotos.net

Several months ago I talked about some recipes I wanted to try.  And while I have tried a few on that list, I keep finding others that seem to call to me to fix them first!

I’m all about quick, easy, tasty and child-friendly.  And I’m sure most of you are as well, so I’ve rated each recipe according to these key elements.

Bacon Wrapped Stuffed Pork Tenderloin ~ Everything is better with bacon!  And this, this was some good stuff.  I wanted to try it because we rarely have pork tenderloin and it’s something my husband really likes.  I don’t make it often because I didn’t have a good recipe for it (the others seemed to dry out the pork) but now I don’t have that excuse.  I also had some stuffing left over, and next time I think I’m going to try and cook the extra separately.  I really liked the stuffing in its own right.  After the pork had cooked for about 50 minutes I put it on the top shelf in my oven and turned the broiler on high for a few minutes, just to crisp up the bacon a little more (I really like crispy bacon).  I had it in the oven a bit longer than the recipe called for because I had a separate pan of veggies (carrots, onions, potatoes) roasting at the same time.  {Which I completely recommend, by the by.  The roasted veggies went along fabulously with the pork.}
* Quickness ~~ Not so much; it has to cook about 45 mins, plus prep time took about 20-30 minutes. (It would have taken less time but I’m particular about the way I chop veggies. Yeah, I know… I have a problem.) So this probably wouldn’t make an easy weeknight meal.
* Easiness ~~ Pretty easy; stuffing the pork was a bit messy (but aren’t all the best things?). And I found that the bacon secured with toothpicks worked well to hold it together.
* Tastiness ~~ Definitely tasty! It is probably my favorite pork tenderloin recipe. Not that I’ve tried a lot. But still.
* Child friendliness ~~ My daughter wouldn’t eat the stuffing (I think it was too onion-y) but she LOVED the pork.  Although she did keep calling it chicken. lol

Sopapilla Cheesecake ~ A friend of mine made this recently and I fell in love with it.  Cheesecake is my absolute fave dessert anyway but paired with cinnamon and crescent rolls it’s to die for.  Definitely NOT something I can make often, especially if I want to lose weight this year.  But it’s a great treat and really doesn’t take much time at all.  In fact, you don’t even have to wait for it to cool… it was good to me both warm and cold!
* Quickness ~~ It comes together very quickly as long as you remember to let the cream cheese sit out for a while before you want to make this dessert.  The longest (and hardest) part is waiting on it to come out of the oven.  It smells so good!
* Easiness ~~ It was a piece of cake (cheesecake, that is! :)) to make.  Pillsbury even make crescent roll dough that is seamless which would make it even easier.
* Tastiness ~~ Oh… so, so tasty.  Probably too tasty…
* Child friendliness ~~ Lots of refined sugars which would probably leave your child on a sugar high.  I personally didn’t give my child any (kind of hypocritical of me, I know) but I’m sure it would be a favorite.

Twice Baked Taco Potatoes ~ I saw this recipe months ago on Money Saving Mom’s website and finally got around to making them myself.  I was not disappointed!
* Quickness ~~  Depends on your idea of quick.  Hands on time in the kitchen was pretty minimal.  But baking the potatoes takes some time (unless you cheat and do them in the microwave like I did!).
* Easiness ~~ Very easy.  It’s basically combining two meals into one.  And they’re freezable!  Bonus!  Make up a huge batch and freeze them; then just defrost what you need and microwave for a minute!
* Tastiness ~~ My husband and I really enjoyed them.  I would make them again.
* Child friendliness ~~ If your child likes baked potatoes and tacos I’m sure this will be a winner.  (Mine likes neither. lol)

Gluten Free and Grain Free Peanut Butter Muffins ~ I had to find a wheat free and gluten free recipe for muffins.  I did not want to have to buy some kind of flour that I’d never use again which eventually lead me to these beauties.
* Quickness ~~ For muffins/cupcakes I these took about a normal amount of time.  It takes a while for the egg whites to stiffen, but as long as you know that going into it, it’s not too bad.
* Easiness ~~ I was hesitant about trying these (I’m a cooker, not a baker; and my last endeavor with whipping egg whites was not pretty) but they turned out pretty good!  They were a bit flat, but maybe I didn’t beat the egg whites long enough after all. lol
* Tastiness ~~ These were surprisingly good, I thought, especially since they didn’t have flour in them at all.  I didn’t expect them to have a muffin texture, if you know what I mean.  I will point out that they were way better right out of the oven than they were the day after, although heating them for a few seconds did help.  Also, I added some dark chocolate chips to the tops before baking… delish!
* Child friendliness ~~ My daughter loved these (especially right out of the oven).  And they were really healthy!

That’s all for now!  Does anyone have a recipe that I just have to try?  I’m always open to suggestions!

Leave a Reply

