Our Adventures in Homeschooling: Week 1 Review

Standard

our adventures in homeschooling

Previous posts in this series:
To Home School Or Not to Home School?
Our Adventures in Homeschooling:  Pre-K Curriculum and Prep Work

Like probably every other first time homeschooling parent, I was a bundle of conflicting emotions as we started the week.  Am I prepared?  Is she prepared?  What am I getting myself into?  How badly must I mess up before I give my child a permanent dislike for school or years of therapy?  

You know… the usual mental conversation you have with yourself at a time such as this.

But even with all of the panic there were those tiny seeds of excitement.  There is nothing like new school supplies and a fresh, young mind ready to learn.  Nothing quite like being able to pour your heart and soul into teaching and molding your own child… being responsible for every aspect of their upbringing.  Exciting, challenging and downright scary.  

I am so scared.

But I hear that is a normal part of being a homeschooling parent.  That even the seasoned homeschooling gurus have those moments of fear.  So maybe that’s a good thing.  I wouldn’t be scared if I didn’t care so much.  I want to give her the best I have to give.  All the time.  Even when I’m scared and don’t want to.

And that’s hard.

But oh, so rewarding.

And did I mention hard?

Having exactly one week of homeschooling experience under my belt I’ve come to realize a few things already:

  • The day will not go as planned.  Your “perfect” plans will be derailed.  Get over it and move on.  It’s not about you anyway.
  • Homeschooling happens throughout the day, every day.  There are always opportunities to reinforce what they’ve learned.  Use them.  That’s when they learn the most.
  • You will get frustrated.  The child will get frustrated.  Take a time out and come back to it later.  Don’t let a sour attitude ruin the day.
  • Praise them for the small things.  A healthy self esteem is so important.  And they learn it from you, Mama.

I planned to complete each day of schooling while the baby (J) was having his morning nap.  C’s attention span is normal for a three year old (read: nonexistent) and I knew that mornings would work better for her.  And me.

She took to it far better than I expected.  There have been many days that she asked, “Can we do school again?” while I was cooking supper or right after she got up from her nap.  Oh, what wonderful words.  I guess I’m doing something right.

She really, really enjoyed the scavenger hunt on the first day.  I used masking tape to make X’s around the house to mark the spot where her supplies were hidden.  I left the X’s up for a few days and every time she saw one she’d exclaim, “It’s an X!!”

012

The cheese and crackers were a big hit.  She now makes most of her food into X’s.  🙂

013

Here we were practicing writing X’s and identifying and drawing rectangles.  She does not enjoy writing letters — she will do so gladly if I help her — so we’re trying to work on that.  Right now I usually end up helping her.  I don’t want to push it too much…  she is only three and has a few years before I’ll start to worry if she can’t write her letters by herself.

014

Here we were coloring our “God’s Word is a treasure” treasure box.  It went promptly into our big treasure box to be saved.  She loves to get the box down and look through her treasures — sometimes even a few times a day.

015What’s better than Playdoh X’s?  Not much, according to my daughter.  In fact, by the end of the week she was making X’s with pretty much everything… pencils, construction paper, sticks, her two ponytail braids… (Yeah, that was really cute. :))

Overall, I thought it was a great first week!  There were a few trying moments — and one day when I decided to put everything up until we were both in a better mood — but that’s all part of it.  The point is that she’s learning.  She’s learning her letters, shapes and other things that are stepping stones to becoming an independent adult.  But most importantly, she’s learning more about God and what the Bible says.  

And I’m blessed to be the one teaching her.

This post is linked to:

  BetterMondaysLinkupWomenLivingWell

10 responses »

  1. It looks like you she had a lot of fun with it! We are starting that same curriculum the first week of September. Good luck with your homeschooling year! I look forward to seeing everything in action before we get there 🙂

  2. So glad to have found your blog through the GLE website – a recommendation from a posting.
    I have a 3 year old boy who is doing the GLE curriculum starting September (1st week) and I am finishing up all the details before next week.
    I want to encourage you to keep posting for all of us who enjoy following!
    Thanks,
    Nancy

    • Thank you for the encouragement! I plan to continue this series until we finish the curriculum and I hope I’m able to help others along the way. Enjoy your homeschooling year and good luck on your first week!

  3. Hello, visiting from WLW link up 🙂 It sounds like a great and successful first week! We did a virtual academy last year (big fail) but this year we are officially homeschooling and I am having those same anxious feelings. We start next week! I pray your year continues to be one of fun and learning. What a blessing to teach our precious ones at home! ~Blessings~

    • Welcome and thank you! I pray you have a successful and rewarding year of homeschooling as well. I assume these fluttery feelings of doubt and excitement go away after a while but so far I haven’t experienced it. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Page not found | Happily A Homemaker

  5. Pingback: Our Adventures in Homeschooling: Week 5 Review | Happily A Homemaker

Leave a Reply

