Our Adventures in Homeschooling: Week 2 Review

Standard

our adventures in homeschooling

Previous posts in this series:
To Home School Or Not to Home School?
Our Adventures in Homeschooling:  Pre-K Curriculum and Prep Work
Our Adventures in Homeschooling:  Week 1 Review

The second week of homeschooling.  It was more challenging than I expected.  It wasn’t the schooling that was challenging, it was all of the other little things that can get in the way of schooling that made the week difficult.  You know, like life and stuff.

As I mentioned last week I’ve scheduled our homeschooling time to coincide with J’s morning naps.  That just make things easier for everyone involved (myself especially).  I know there are moms out there schooling six kids and still have a baby or two underfoot during it all… but I’m not them.  I’m sure I’ll eventually get more adept at this but for now I need to focus on one thing at a time.

This week we had a scheduled doctor visit that kind of messed up the whole nap routine, which in turn messed up the school routine as well.  The next day my mom came for a visit and was here all day.  Now don’t get me wrong, I loved our visit and I’m glad she came.  We all enjoyed it immensely.  But it messed up our school routine as well.  In fact, we didn’t even have school that day.  With all of that happening at the beginning of the week I felt like I was off stride for the whole week!

We still enjoyed learning about the letter G though.  C did seem to like drawing her little g’s (draw a circle with a tail!) — but I still had to help.  I can’t even recall the number of words we recited that started with G.  Grow, garden, God, green, grass, gone, gourd… you get the idea.

015

These are the books we read this week (along with Bob and Larry’s Creation Vacation, which we own).  I could not find the suggested Planting a Rainbow by Lois Ehlert so we substituted the other two pictured.  C really enjoyed A Green, Green Garden and The Tiny Seed and we read both of those multiple times.  We read Bob and Larry’s Creation Vacation all the time anyway; it’s usually one of the requested before-bed-books.

002C also enjoyed this bean counting game.  By the end of it though, all of the beans were stacked in the #12 slot… but that’s ok too. 🙂

014Pardon this slightly blurry picture, but I had to show off her artwork.  She cut all of the “petals” and glued them on (there may have been more glue used than absolutely necessary…).  I did help with the stem and leaves as I’m sure you can tell.

018

I completely forgot about the seeds we put in the plastic baggy for a few days.  Thankfully I remembered today.  I just used seeds we had on hand.  The ones that grew for us were black bean and radish seeds.  The carrot seeds didn’t grow nor did the apple seed from an apple she had been eating that day… although I didn’t really expect that one to grow.

I think this activity is what really helped her grasp the whole concept of seeds producing plants.  It’s so much fun watching her learn and discover things for herself!

Ooh, and I almost forgot!  Our Creation Book!

022

This was such a fun activity!  It took me a couple of tries to figure out the best way to work with the contact paper but I finally figured it out.

First I measured 12 inches and folded there (keeping the paper side on the inside) and measured the next 12 inches and cut there.

023

I would then peel off the first half and we would decorate as directed.  Then just peel the paper off the other half and press together, starting with the crease.

Easy peasy!

I can’t wait for next week when we learn about the letter A!

This post is linked up at:

Thriving-Thursdays1raising arrows

Leave a Reply

