September Fitness Challenge

Standard
source: freedigitalphotos.net

source: freedigitalphotos.net

These were my goals for August:

~ 1,500 fitness minutes.
~ Vary the routine a bit:  elliptical, Zumba (on my Wii), exercise DVDs (like Walk Away the Pounds or Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred).
~ Aim for 5 – 7 servings of fruits/veggies each day.  I stink at this some days.
~ 500 squats during the month.  That’s a bit more than 30 squats per day, 4 days per week.

And this is how I did on them:

~  1,460 fitness minutes.  So close.
~ I did vary the routine a bit, but I did a lot of plain ol’ walking too… although I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that either!
~ I did not get 5 – 7 servings every day but I certainly made more of an effort and did better than I have been doing recently.  And it was fun to figure out how to add more to my day!
~ To be honest I completely forgot about this goal until the last week of the month.  I had done a few as part of my strength training routine through the month, but not nearly enough to add up to 500.

Not too bad overall (except the squats).  I do feel like I’m getting a bit burned out on so much exercise every day.  I think I’m going to scale it back a bit this month just to give myself more breathing room and a chance to focus more on other things.

Goals for September

~ 1,000 fitness minutes
~ Strength training:  30 mins, 4x week
~ 300 squats through the month (maybe I should work my way up :))
~ Zumba once per week

Leave a Reply

