Our Adventures in Homeschooling: Week 4 Review

Standard

our adventures in homeschooling

{View previous posts in this series here.}

I know I’m a few days late posting this, but better late than never, right?  It’s been a crazy few days.  Like, a never ending and completely exhaustingly crazy few days.  (Is “exhaustingly” even a word?  No?  Ah well, it still fits.)

Since this week was all about the letter Z I decided on a rather spur of the moment trip to the zoo… Granted, spur of the moment for me was planning it two days in advance.  But before you start shaking your head at my lack of spontaneity you must know that the closest zoo is a 1.5 hour drive from here.  And anyone with children can tell you that a day trip with munchkins in tow can not be completely successful if it’s not planned in advance.  Can I get an amen? 🙂

I was at least able to pair it with a trip to the closest Hobby Lobby (PS. I love that store.  It’s probably a good thing that the closest one is 1.5 hours away.) to get flowers for my sister’s wedding which was this weekend.  And no, I was not procrastinating about doing the flowers.  They decided about 10 days ago to get married.  Apparently she got all of the spontaneous genes….

But anyway, where was I?  Oh yes, the zoo.  We had such a fun time!  C’s favorite animal at the moment? Zebras!  And that fit right in with learning about Zs.  She was super pumped about the whole experience — as was my 11 month old — and seems to have taken quite a bit away from the experience.

I won’t bore you with pictures of our zoo experience… you know what the animals look like, I’m sure. 🙂

I finally ordered the Wee Sings CD, which was recommended to go along with the GLE curriculum.  It came in at the beginning of this week so we were able to listen to “Who Built the Ark?” every day.  {I personally am not a huge fan of children singing on sing-a-longs, but so far I’ve liked what I’ve heard of this CD.  I’m glad we got it and my daughter loves it.}  By the end of the week she was singing along, especially with the chorus.  Now if you ask her, “Who built the ark?”, she responds with, “Noah! Noah!”

The second day while we were listening to the song we got out all of her stuffed animals (and any other animal we could find) and lined them up in her room.  Her rug became our “ark” and she placed all of the animals in lines on the ark.  I hadn’t realized how many toys she had until we did this activity…. some may have to find new homes soon!

018We enjoyed eating animal crackers as a snack this week.  They even became a learning experience, although it didn’t turn out quite as I had anticipated.  I asked my daughter, “If you have two animals up here and three animals down here, what does that make?”  Her answer?  “A smiley face!!”

Apparently I should have rephrased my question.

027We also made a lion from a paper plate on day 2.  I drew the mouth but C did the rest.  Now she goes around trying to scare her brother by hiding behind it and growling.  So far it hasn’t worked. 🙂

031

A few weeks ago I discovered that 3 Dinosaurs has some awesome prewriting practice sheet printables for preschoolers.  Since C isn’t that fond of trying to write her letters I decided to try this with her.   She loves them!  I originally printed them out and put them in sheet protectors (like you see in the above picture) but we use them so much that they’re starting to get crinkled already.  I laminated them today in hopes that they’ll last longer that way.   We work with them a several times a week now and I can already see an improvement in the way she writes.

035

She’ll even trace letters for me a lot more willingly now!

022

Speaking of learning games, we love the Alphabet Strips from Teachers of Good Things as well.  So versatile!  Right now we’re just using them to match letters, but I’m sure we’ll soon start using them in other ways mentioned on her website.

026I bought some animal stamps at the Dollar Tree a few months ago.  They were definitely worth their price this week when we made our own zoo.  I told C that I wasn’t sure if putting the tiger and the crocodile in the same cage was a good idea but she was adamant.  But so far they’re behaving themselves.

Other things we did this week:

  • We created and began a chore chart, but I’ll have more about that in a separate post.
  • Pretended to be all sorts of different animals.
  • Practiced writing her name.
  • Made Playdoh Z’s.

C had a little bit of trouble saying the letter Z at first.  She kept sticking the tip of her tongue between her teeth so it made more of a “C” sound.  We kept practicing and she got it down pat — what really helped her figure it out was when I told her she needed to hold her mouth like she was brushing her front teeth.  Now she has no problems with it!

That’s about all I can think of right now.  Since I’m running behind on posting this it’s not all still fresh in my mind!

.

This post is linked at:

Thriving-Thursdays1raising arrows

5 responses »

  1. Love the idea of using the snack as a learning experience, too. We’re just starting preschool (a little late) here in our home, so I’m always on the look-out for good ideas! I’m visiting from Thriving Thursdays. 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Independent Preschool Binder | Happily A Homemaker

Leave a Reply

