Crockpot Applesauce

Standard

002 copy

A few weeks ago during homeschool we focused on the letter A, and of course you can’t talk about the letter A without eating an apple or two.  Or ten.

And I’m pretty sure we ate more than ten.

But anyway, in our quest for all things apple I ran across this Crockpot Applesauce recipe and decided that we needed some good applesauce in our lives.  And as a fairly new “homemade homemaker” I had never made my own applesauce.  This recipe is so easy I have no excuse to ever buy store bought applesauce again!

Since we had several apples to choose from I used a few different kinds — all sweet tasting.  The bulk of the applesauce was made from Red Delicious apples (because I had a lot of those) and I think it turned out well.  I did peel the apples since they were not organic and I was trying to make it as healthy as I could.

020

With the word “crockpot” in the title you know it’s not going to be a quick recipe.  But from preparation to end result was less than 5 hours (with a three year old “helping”), so that’s not too bad.  I like smoother textured applesauce, so I used a handheld submersion blender instead of a potato masher when it finished cooking.

002

My 11 month old son (J) loved it.  The three year old (C) wasn’t as fond of it but she’s a rather picky eater anyway so I didn’t expect her to like it.  (She still ate a few bites so I can’t complain.)  I ate more than my fair share of it!  It reminded me a lot of my grandmother’s recipe which was lost when she passed away because a lot of her recipes weren’t written down.  I’m very happy to have this one as a replacement!

001

And what’s better than the smell of cooking apples??  Ahh, I love the smells of autumn!

Enjoy!

.

This post is linked at:

Thriving-Thursdays1    BetterMondaysLinkup    LivingWell

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

