Countdown to an Organized Christmas: Addresses

Standard

countdown christmas

{If you’ve missed the previous posts in this series you can find them here.}

Confession time.  I love getting the occasional card or letter in the mail.  It’s a nice change from bills or junk mail.  However, I’m horrible about sending nice snail mail notes throughout the year to friends and family.  I love the idea of it.  I want to.  I try to.  But I forget.

And to be honest, sometimes I don’t want to go through the hassle of it all.  Picking out the perfect card (which is fun… unless you have a couple of screaming kids in the shopping cart that are ready to leave); planning out and writing a sweet, thoughtful note (which usually takes me far longer than it should because I want it to be perfect); tracking down the recipient’s address (and then realizing they’ve moved since then); locating a stamp (which I never seem to be able to find); and finally, actually getting it delivered to the mail box or post office (sometimes this is the hardest part!).

Now that I think about it, it’s really a wonder that I ever get anything mailed!  🙂

And somehow I’ve gotten off topic.

Ah yes, Christmas cards.  Yesterday we made out our Christmas card list — the people we want to send cards to this year.  (You did do your homework, right?)

What’s the next logical step?  Tracking down addresses for these people!

I know what you’re doing right now.  You’re thinking back to your Christmas card list and mentally marking some off the list because you don’t know their address and don’t really want to go to the hassle of finding them.  Never fear!  It may be easier than you think.  A tool I use (frequently) is whitepages.com.  If you know their name and city you can probably locate them with this website — and it’s free.

I’m pretty lucky.  I know that if I can’t find the address through Whitepages that my mother will have it in her black address book that’s been around since 1969.  (I’m pretty sure that date is not exaggerated either.)  There’s at least a whole bottle of White Out on those pages, but she has the address of every family member from here to Timbuktu.

Now some of your cards probably won’t be mailed, and you obviously won’t need addresses for those people.  I only mail cards to my out of town (or country) relatives and friends.

Quick show of hands:  Who still has Christmas cards from a previous year that were never mailed?  I’m not the only one, right?

If you have the addresses to hand, typed/written neatly and snug in your CCJ, you will be far more likely to actually mail those Christmas cards this year.  It has helped me tremendously over the past few years.  And the great thing about a “permanent” CCJ (instead of making a new one every year) is that I only have to update any addresses that have changed (which I normally do when I find out about the move so I don’t forget).

 

Anything to help make my life easier!

And now, the homework:

Today’s Assignment:  Get all of your addresses in one place.  Round up all of the posty notes, envelope scraps, and the address book.  Write/type them all on one (or more) sheets of paper and put this list in your CCJ.

Today’s Printable:  This one has four lines for each address:  CCJ addresses.  And this one has five lines for each address:  CCJ addresses uk.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Countdown to an Organized Christmas: Welcome | Happily A Homemaker

  2. Pingback: Countdown to an Organized Christmas: Binder Prep and Organizing | Happily A Homemaker

Leave a Reply

