Countdown to an Organized Christmas: Order Tracking

Standard

countdown christmas

{If you’ve missed the previous posts in this series you can find them here.}

I almost forgot an important element of the gifts sections — order tracking!

If you’re like many people on the globe, you’ve probably been introduced to online shopping.  And if you haven’t tried it, I think you’re missing out.  Online shopping is a mama’s best friend (especially a new mama).  Seriously.  You don’t even have to get out of your pajamas!  And it’s delivered right to your door — already boxed.  Really all you have to do is throw some wrapping paper on that joker and you’re done.  Although you might want to take the receipt out of the box first.  I keep forgetting to do that…

Anyway, if you do the bulk of your Christmas shopping online sometimes it all starts to run together.  It gets difficult to remember what you’ve received and what you haven’t received.  Writing it down relieves some of the burden of trying to remember — and if you’re like me you probably haven’t had a good memory since long before children arrived on the scene.

I also keep track when I’ve ordered something using reward points and don’t have an actual receipt and scheduled delivery date.  For example, recently I cashed in my Pampers Rewards points to purchase a Christmas toy for one of the kids.  The only order confirmation I got was that I should receive it in four to six weeks.  Chances are I will completely forget about it until it comes in the mail.  What if it doesn’t come when it should?  If I don’t write it down and keep an eye on it, I could potentially forget all about that gift.  {I’m not saying that I think Pampers is trying to scam me.  I’m just using them as an example. :)}

Another thing to keep in mind:  Make sure you keep all of your emails concerning your orders.  If you are in the habit of deleting emails, be sure and hang on to these at least until after the gifts have arrived.  It also might be a good idea to keep any returns information handy in case you have to return a gift.  I personally always keep financial emails filed away in a separate folder.  Then I know that if I ever need one, it’s there.

And now, the homework:

Today’s Assignment:  This one is pretty easy, especially if you haven’t ordered any Christmas presents online or through a catalog yet.  (Yes, don’t forget the catalog orders!)  If you have started ordering, jot down a few details about when you ordered, what company, the order number, when you expect it and even who the gift is for.

Today’s Printable:  CCJ order tracker.

4 responses »

    • Exactly! It just makes things so much more organized. I even hold all current financial emails in a “temporary” folder until I can balance my checkbook. Then I move them to the “permanent” folder after I can check them off.

  1. Pingback: Countdown to an Organized Christmas: Welcome | Happily A Homemaker

  2. Pingback: Countdown to an Organized Christmas: Binder Prep and Organizing | Happily A Homemaker

Leave a Reply

