Countdown to an Organized Christmas: Stocking Stuffers

Standard

countdown christmas

{If you’ve missed the previous posts in this series you can find them here.}

One of my favorite parts of Christmas when I was a child was to see what was put in my Christmas stocking!  It was the one present we could sneak a peek at before our parents got up and we were able to open our wrapped presents.

And every year, without fail, Mom would (and still does) put an apple, orange and a box of Sunkist raisins in the toe of the stocking.  And as I mentioned the other day, I don’t even like oranges (too pulpy) or raisins (too squishy).  I never thought about it before but I might have a problem with textures….

Anyway, moving on.

Since I am a wife and mother it’s now my job to make sure my family has a stuffed stocking.  For the children I usually hit the Dollar Tree and get a bunch of little things to put in their stockings.  (Usually small books, toys, crayons and the like).  My husband is a different story.  He’s always very thoughtful with the stocking gifts he buys for me.  (And yes, I am blessed to have a husband who actually remembers to buy me stocking stuffers and presents!)  Last year I got a super awesome knife sharpener, some costume jewelry (about the only kind I wear now since I have young children), and an herb grinder, among other things.  Each gift was something he knew I wanted and would use, and I still love (and use on a regular basis) everything he got me.

So are you the type who painstakingly picks out each stocking stuffer with care?  Or do you forget about it completely until December 24th (yeah, I’ve done that too)?  Do you have trouble trying to figure out what stocking stuffers to buy?  Or do you tend to get the same things every year?

This year I’m trying something different.  I’ve assigned a budget for each stocking I have to buy for.  Since I tend to buy things so far in advance I sometimes forget what I’ve bought for the stocking stuffers.  This year I’m going to write it all down — and why didn’t I think about this years ago?? — so I can keep track of what else needs to be bought.

If you were hoping I would make a list of stocking stuffers to help give you some ideas, never fear!  I have scoured my feeble little brain and have come up with a list of inexpensive stocking stuffers for  younger children.

  • fruit (apples, oranges, raisins, etc)
  • underwear
  • socks
  • a cool toothbrush
  • toothpaste
  • hair bows/clips
  • nail polish, lip gloss, etc
  • Matchbox cars
  • Playdoh
  • small books
  • crayons
  • coloring book
  • stickers
  • temporary tattoos (if you go for that kind of thing)
  • sunglasses
  • alphabet magnets
  • packs of cards (Go Fish, Old Maid, etc)
  • tickets to a show, museum, amusement park, etc
  • gift cards
  • hot chocolate packets — gourmet or regular
  • peppermint sticks or other candy
  • washable markers (I especially love the Crayola Color Wonder stuff — if I can get it on sale)
  • character Bandaids
  • DVD (I love the $5 bin at WalMart for this!)
  • CD
  • cookie cutters (can be used to help you make cookies or with Playdoh)
  • fancy lollipops
  • bubble bath
  • bath colors/paint
  • silly putty
  • sidewalk chalk
  • bubbles
  • silly straws

And now, the homework:

Today’s Assignment:  Keep a record of the stocking stuffer gifts you buy.  Brainstorm some neat gifts for the people on your list.

Today’s Printable:  CCJ stocking stuffers.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Countdown to an Organized Christmas: Welcome | Happily A Homemaker

  2. Pingback: Countdown to an Organized Christmas: Binder Prep and Organizing | Happily A Homemaker

Leave a Reply

