Countdown to an Organized Christmas: Holiday Baking

Standard

countdown christmas

{If you’ve missed the previous posts in this series you can find them here.}

I am posting this a day late — please bear with me.  I’ve been as sick as dog for the past several days (or weeks) but it’s really taken me down again in the past few days.  Thankfully, I seem able to finally get out of bed this afternoon and I hope I have enough strength in me to complete these two posts for today.  And no, I’m not pregnant 🙂 just chills, fever and general achiness.  

And now that I’ve gotten that out of the way, let’s proceed to holiday baking!  I could have lumped it in with the holiday meals, but if y’all are like me the baking takes place a lot more often than the one special meal.  And as far as I’m concerned, there is just nothing that smells like Christmas more than cinnamon and spices, pumpkin, and mince pies!  Drool worthy!

When do you start Christmas baking?  If you give out cookies or other treats as Christmas gifts, you’ll probably be baking a lot over the course of the holiday.  I love to have some sugar cookies or cheese straws on hand at all times during the weeks leading up to Christmas.

In fact, baking for Christmas is one of our holiday traditions — so important to me that it the time to do it gets scheduled on our holiday calendar.  No lie.  I’ve already scheduled cheese straw baking with my husband on the second Friday in December.  {If we make them any sooner than that we won’t have any left by Christmas.}  I also have schedule gingerbread house (and man) baking and decorating with my daughter for much earlier in the month.  I figure that might take some time to complete.  🙂

Are you reading this and wistfully thinking to yourself, “Oh, I wish I had time to do that!”?  You can — if you make it a priority and schedule the time to do it!  Seriously, if I can do it anyone can.  I’m not saying my baking skills are that awesome (quite the contrary, I usually tend to dislike baking!) but there’s just something about spending time with my loved ones in the kitchen during Christmas that really warms my heart.  Sure, it gets a bit messy and I’m quite sure it won’t be all fun when I have to gently discipline my daughter (or husband) for licking the spoon or whatever… but that’s not the reason it’s so special to me.  I enjoy making these memories with my family, especially at Christmas.  There is just something “magical” about it!

Ok, I’m back on task now.  Let’s get down to business.  Hopefully you’ve already been compiling your list of recipes into your CCJ (you totally have, right?).  The purpose of today’s printable is to line out your Christmas baking goals.  Write down the day you want to do your baking/cooking.  Maybe jot down who will help you with the baking.  Write down who the baked items should be given to if you feel so inclined.  I’ve included a large notes section to help you write those things that will keep you better organized.

Please note that this printable is not specifically meant for your holiday meal baking.  There is room on that printable for those things.

And now, the homework:

Today’s Assignment:  Spend a few minutes planning your Christmas baking.

Today’s Printable:  CCJ Christmas baking planner

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Countdown to an Organized Christmas: Welcome | Happily A Homemaker

  2. Pingback: Countdown to an Organized Christmas: Binder Prep and Organizing | Happily A Homemaker

Leave a Reply

