Countdown to an Organized Christmas: Pantry Inventory

Standard

countdown christmas

{If you’ve missed the previous posts in this series you can find them here.}

I have been blessed with a relatively large pantry.  It’s not like room-sized big, but it’s more space than I’ve ever had before.  I am able to store a lot of extra food in there in case of emergencies (and also if I find a great sale!).  My pantry is also where I keep my extra small appliances when they’re not in use, extra table linens, and extra large containers (like cake carriers, etc.).

Needless to say, it’s pretty well trafficked every day.

I tried for a long time to tame the beast but never had much luck.  I would lose things in the back and forget what I had on hand.  After I finally got my freezer inventory on a good system I decided to tackle the pantry with the same general idea.

I wrote down the list of foods I normally keep in my pantry and laminated the paper.  I use my wet erase marker to mark when I take out or put something into the pantry.  I have my list (and marker) fastened in my pantry on a string.  It doesn’t magically grow legs and walk off that way.

Bonus tip:  On shopping day you can easily take your pantry (and freezer) list and see what you’re running low on.  Making a shopping list is so easy!

With everything going on around the holidays keeping an inventory of your pantry could be a definite sanity saver.  You would always know what’s on hand!  Last minute guests could show up and you could probably throw something together to make them feel welcome.  (Speaking of which, I think everyone should have at least one go to snack/meal that’s easy to fix in a pinch.  And always have those ingredients on hand.)   And you know what?  It’s not a sin to have a little Betty Crocker help from time to time either.  Just sayin’. 🙂

So do yourself a favor and start organizing that pantry now.  You didn’t have any other plans for the weekend, did you? 🙂

And now, the homework:

Today’s Assignment:  Make your pantry inventory check list.  As with the freezer list yesterday, you might as well go ahead and throw out all of the expired cans and boxes of stuff that have overstayed their welcome.

Today’s Printable:  CCJ pantry inventory list.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Countdown to an Organized Christmas: Welcome | Happily A Homemaker

  2. Yep, I totally agree with having a go-to easy meal and always having those ingredients on hand. Things get crazy enough over the holidays, and this little little prep work can save a ton of hassle.

  3. Pingback: Countdown to an Organized Christmas: Binder Prep and Organizing | Happily A Homemaker

Leave a Reply

