Being Intentionally Focused: Part Two

Standard

intentionally focused1

Last week ago I asked a question:

What would your life be like if you were intentionally focused?

Since then I have been trying to live intentionally focused.  And God has shown me areas in my life that I need to change in order to grow closer to Him.

So let me be completely honest.  We’re all friends here, right? 🙂

The biggest area of my life that needs to change is the amount of time I spend at Jesus’ feet.  In both prayer and Bible study.  Too often in the mornings I hit snooze and then I’m unable to start my day off with Bible study and prayer.  Because after the kids get up… well, you can just forget being able to have quiet time.  “Quiet” isn’t in a toddler’s vocabulary.

And if I don’t start off my day the right way it is too easy to make excuses that I don’t have time to do it later.  Not only that, but I always, always seem to have a better day when I start the day in prayer and meditation on His Word.

And coincidentally or otherwise (and I really don’t believe in coincidences), this was touched upon in the Bible study I am doing right now.

intentionally focused

Courtney from GMG had this to say:

“The Bible has been read out loud and recorded.  It takes a total of 70 hours and 40 minutes to listen to the entire Bible.  If you do the math and divide that number by 365 days you get 12 minutes a day.  12 minutes a day!  That’s it.  In just 12 minutes a day, we could read or listen to the entire Bible cover to cover –

every.
single.
year.

Doesn’t that seem doable?”

Yes.  Yes, it does.

And in that statement I felt totally convicted.  One of my goals last year was to read the Bible through.  And did I do it?  No.  Sure, there were a lot of days I got sidetracked researching a particular passage and didn’t finish my reading for the day.  But there were also many days that I skipped it all together because I was “too busy”.  Too busy to spend twelve minutes with my Lord and Savior.  Oh, how ashamed I am!

So what does this have to do with being intentionally focused?  If I am not intentionally focused on the one thing that truly matters in this life, how can I intentionally focus on anything else?

Living intentionally focused on studying God’s Word, drawing closer to Him, doing His will, praising His name, talking to Him… That is what should have my greatest focus.  Not the insignificant things this world throws at me.

And if I am intentionally focused on God I suspect I’ll in turn be a much better wife, mother, Sunday School teacher, blogger, friend, etc., etc.  Will it be easy?  No, of course not. Things worth doing are rarely easy.

But it will definitely be worth it.

This post is linked up at:

womanhoodwithpurpose  Essential-Fridays4-700x700  hopeineveryseasonraising arrows

5 responses »

  1. Wow, I so needed to read this post! Even just the question you asked! What would my life be like if I lived intentionally focused? I have alsow been struggeling with this but in all areas of my life and I truly think that it all (as you said) starts with how you start your day… Seek first the kingdom and all these things shall be added. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Living intentionally is so important!
    Thanks for sharing at Essential Fridays.
    Blessings
    Mel from Essential Thing Devotions

Leave a Reply

