12 Months to a Healthier You Challenge: Week 6 Update

Standard

12-Months-to-a-Healthier-You-5-500x800Last month Crystal over at Money Saving Mom issued a challenge:  complete twelve healthy habits, spaced over the course of the year, which would help bring about a new, improved and healthier you.

And since I’m not doing my own habits this year I thought this would be an awesome challenge to take part of.  A few of my 2014 goals center around becoming more healthy.  Plus this challenge has built in accountability!  What’s not to love?

February’s Challenge:  eat more fresh fruits and vegetables 

My Goals for February:  

  • 1,750 (or more) fitness minutes (I’m keeping up with January’s challenge)
  • at least seven servings of fruit each week
  • eat a salad every day
  • try a new fruit or veggie (“freggie”) this month

This Week’s Progress:

So far during February I have exercised 380 fitness minutes.  Not bad, but I need to average more minutes per day if I want to hit my (quite lofty) goal of 1,750 fitness minutes this month.  (Why did I decide on such a high number during the shortest month of the year?  I guess I like to torture myself.  :))

Eating enough fruit has always been hard for me.  I enjoy eating veggies a lot more than I enjoy fruit.  (I know, I’m weird.)  I mean, I like fruit; I just prefer vegetables.  Plus if I want to eat fruit I have to do it while the kids are napping.  If I get out any type of fruit they stick to me like glue.  Maybe that’s why it’s hard for me to eat fruit…

But anyway, I did eat at least seven servings of fruit this week.  Woohoo!  I also ate at least one salad every day.  My favorite go to salad to eat (when I’m tired of lettuce) is a concoction my father in law came up with a few years ago.  You chop up some cucumber, red bell pepper, orange bell pepper, yellow bell pepper, red/purple onion, celery, carrots and radishes and stir in a bit of EVOO and cracked black pepper.  Yum, yum!!  I could eat it all the time.  It’s especially good with fresh, homegrown vegetables straight out of the garden.  (Come on, spring!!)  I also enjoy it mixed with some baby spinach or mixed lettuces.

And now that I’ve made myself hungry, I guess that concludes this week’s update.  😀

2 responses »

  1. I wish I loved veggies as much as you do. All vegetables taste bitter to me, even extremely fresh ones right out of our garden. But I do my best to eat them anyway. Sometimes if I cook them a little the bitterness improves. I’m a good fruit eater though.

    I hope you are able to reach your exercising goal this month.

Leave a Reply

