Crockpot Chicken Tacos

Standard

I don’t know about you, but I can always use a healthy, easy, delicious recipe that my whole family loves. I love to cook, but most of the time I don’t have time to make “The Perfect Meal”. Ok ok, so I’ve never made a perfect meal. A girl can still dream, right?

So anyway, when I saw this recipe for Crockpot Chicken Tacos I knew I just HAD to try it. Just having the word “crockpot” in the title made me want to make it. (Side Note: If you’re not using your crockpot on a regular basis, you should totally rethink that. And if you don’t have a crockpot/slow cooker, shame on you! Go buy one now! 🙂 ) A crockpot meal or freezer casserole has saved my sanity way more times than I care to count. But I digress…

Crockpot Chicken Tacos Closeup

I used 2 cans of Ro*Tel in mine since it was a throw together meal and I didn’t have any fresh pico. I actually used one can of mild and one regular since I have a two year old and didn’t want it to be too hot. (Although she’s been eating salsa at Mexican restaurants since she was old enough to dip her own chips so I’m not sure why I bothered.)

The recipe itself is only about 200 calories per serving by my calculations, and I figured six pretty good sized servings. That’s over 23 grams of lean protein per serving as well. And of course you can make it even healthier by using whole wheat/grain tortillas and loading up on the tomatoes, lettuce, onion… whatever veggies you put on your tacos. If you got eight servings out of the recipe then it’s only about 150 calories and 17 grams of protein.

The taste was great, the prep work pretty non-existant, and I didn’t have to slave in a hot kitchen. That definitely counts as a winner to me!

321

This post is linked up at:

raising arrows